Svalbard and Needless Complications

I had a bit of a “knitting moment” today. I was over here last night, on the Brooklyn Tweed Blog. It was towards midnight.

I read the interview over once, pausing to understand the construction specifics. I re-read the post. Then again. (As Bristol says, “Knitting nerds unite!“)

Something wouldn’t fit into my brain right. I think it was, “…knitting is an amazingly malleable and organic art form, as well as a concrete and tactile method of exploring geometry and spatial reasoning.” I remember thinking, “Oh… this is complicated. I didn’t know knitwear designers had to wrestle with such ‘logic puzzles.’ What is radial shaping? What are dolman sleeves? What’s so unusual about a ‘non-traditional construction method’?”

I’ve just been re-reading this and the preceding posts, and wondering what I found so puzzling yestereve. Perhaps I didn’t understand that Thorn’s hidden increases are called “radial shaping”? Or that dolman sleeves are (only) somewhat cape-like? That “logic puzzles” consist of determining how to make one stitch pattern flow smoothly into the next? Or rather, that a ‘non-traditional construction method’ is simply casting on at the back, increasing at the edges for the raglan sleeves, and building the increases into the motif at the back – ? Voila!

Do you ever wish there was something new in knitting? Is there? (Was the invention of circulars the last milestone… or not?)

