Five-Minute Friday: Glue

IMG_8712

Maybe it’s just that picture of the lady with her head in a bag. And it’s called “Unglued.”

The women in the Bible study, they all want to believe it. They laugh at their own concepts of “organized,” someone’s search for a way to organize closets, and the other doesn’t have any – any closets.

I remember the flight when the man next to me spoke some undecipherable language, and I grabbed a magazine out of the back-seat pocket, flipped frantically to the map of Europe.

He frowned. “This… Europe.”

I turned a crinkly magazine page, a map of the world.

And he points to Egypt.

The lights dim, the captain comes in over the loudspeaker, announcing takeoff, and I peer out the window, watching the curve of the pregnant earth with all those million lights.

Jesus’s words from Matthew 16: “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.”

In Bunyan’s account of Christian’s journey, the protagonist asks if there is not a way to bypass Vanity Fair altogether. He is answered that to detour the fair, one “must needs go out of the world.”

Like Paul writes, that to avoid sinners “you would have to leave the world.”

“For what will it profit a man if he gains the whole world and forfeits his soul?”

And then there’s me, so gravity-bound. (Lord, unglue me from this earth?)

And in His grace, He answers Yes.

Five Minute Friday

(This is me, unedited. Join me? If not this Friday, next week?)

2 thoughts on “Five-Minute Friday: Glue

a penny for your thoughts?

