Five-Minute Friday: Hide

When my friend sits down, she glances at the empty chair on my left and says, “She’s not coming.”

And I say, “What? Why not? Has she already gone – ?”

“Yeah. She posted about it. Ninety days, she’ll be gone. It’s for the best, you know.”

I burst into tears.

I never got to give her one last hug, to pull her struggling body against mine and say, “You are loved. I love you and God loves you & He has a plan for you, ‘though you can’t see it –” and so many other things.

I tried all year to show her how loved she was. I don’t know if she understood it. I prayed that she’d figure out what she was running from. I prayed that she would find God. I asked God to find her.

I crawled into His arms and cried. He is my solace. I know that this is true: “For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God.” Colossians 3:3

Five-Minute-Friday-4

3 thoughts on “Five-Minute Friday: Hide

  1. Moving post. I am reminded of the words of a classic hymn:
    “O safe to the Rock that is higher than I,
    My soul in its conflicts and sorrows would fly;
    So sinful, so weary, Thine, Thine, would I be;
    Thou blest “Rock of Ages,” I’m hiding in Thee.”
    Visiting from FMF. Blessings.

  2. ambercadenas

    I wonder if perhaps your friend does know that you love her… and perhaps it is a comfort and strength to her that you don’t know. This is one of the hardest parts of love, I think. To let someone go and sit with the helplessness and still hold out hope that they are continually pursued by Love with the desire for their wholeness and healing. May you continue to find solace in the Source, where you hide.

    Your FMF neighbor,
    Amber

a penny for your thoughts?

