Five-Minute Friday: Blue

There is lightning all over the sky, for several hours.

The air is hot and sticky, and there is never rain, only a dreary leftover bit of the dry day and June-bugs everywhere, buzzing.

I lay on my back on the deck. There’s a caterpillar in my hair; I shake it out.

My mind is running through 1st Kings 19.

… Jezebel sent a messenger to Elijah to say, “May the gods deal with me, be it ever so severely, if by this time tomorrow I do not make your life like that of one of them.”
Elijah was afraid and ran for his life … a day’s journey into the wilderness. He came to a broom bush, sat down under it and prayed that he might die. “I have had enough, Lord,” he said. “Take my life; I am no better than my ancestors.”

I counted my exits – I knew the school year was drawing to a close, and I wouldn’t see these people again, so I thought, why not share the gospel now?

And Paul’s all like: “I am not ashamed of the gospel.”

Elijah runs. Unlike Jonah, who runs away from God, Elijah runs to God. But if you know God, don’t all roads lead to Him?

And the word of the Lord came to him: “What are you doing here, Elijah?”

He replied, “I have been very zealous for the Lord God Almighty. The Israelites have rejected your covenant, torn down your altars, and put your prophets to death with the sword. I am the only one left,and now they are trying to kill me too.”

Lord, I’ve striven all year for your glory. I’ve botched it badly, I know; but I did try. Yet no one has listened – no one has chosen you despite all I could do. And God, I’m left here now, and it’s all over. What was it all for?

There is lightning against the dark blue sky, and the wind comes strong, whipping dry leaves across my arms, but there is no rain.

Five-Minute-Friday-4

(this was more of a ten-minute post)

5 thoughts on “Five-Minute Friday: Blue

  1. A long time ago (just after I graduated from high school), a school mate came to talk with me. He came to tell me that he had rededicated his live to the Lord. He went on to tell me how my life living for Christ drove him crazy–crazy in a good sort of way. I had no idea I was having any effect at all. He showed no signs. I was taken aback. Wow, God was using me even though I didn’t know how.
    I hope my story is a little encouragement. I know I botched being a perfect example of a follower of Christ, but God used me. You are responsible to be obedient to Him. And God does something amazing with it. Every sacrifice you make is a treasure to Him.
    I’m visiting from FMF.
    By the way, I loved reading your writing. You paint beautifully with words.

  2. It can be discouraging at times when, based on our evaluation of our efforts, we have accomplished nothing or little. There is comfort in knowing that His perspective is different from ours and He uses even the most feeble of our human efforts for His glory. Visiting from FMF.

  3. Abi, this is so poignantly beautiful. I SO identify with the prayer, “Lord, I’ve striven all year for your glory. I’ve botched it badly, I know; but I did try…” I pray this almost daily. May you have comfort in the fact that He does “work all things together for good…” and that He is working whether we see it or not. Blessed to stop by from FMF tonight.

a penny for your thoughts?

