Back Three Weeks

Three weeks ago there was a rainy spell, and I went everywhere in my too-small yellow raincoat. And I wasn’t sure how God was going to work in the next three weeks, but I sure-as-anything wouldn’t let anyone steal my joy.

I came to lunch with raindrops on my eyelashes; and a boy was sitting at the lunch table, his head resting on it and his arms extended, and he was smiling. I said, “Are you happy because of the rain, too?”

He shook his head, no.

I went out into the courtyard and lifted my face up to the grey sky, and knew that surely God is Here.

‘For to us a child is born, to us a son is given;

And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

Of the increase of his government and his peace, there will be no end.’ (Is. 9.6-7)

‘The Lord himself will give you a sign: the virgin will be with child and will give birth to a son, and will call him Immanuel…” (Is. 7.14)

– and Immanuel means God with us.

a penny for your thoughts?

