little celebrations

I made chocolate cookies this evening, because I thought a celebration was due. I managed to not eat half the dough – progress! – and to only eat half the batch – also progress!

I went to bed early last night, and probably got ten-something hours of sleep.

I read over all the gifts I’d counted in 2015, all the thank-yous. I didn’t count nearly as many in 2015 as I had in 2014, only a couple hundred – I wasn’t trying to reach one thousand, so – but there were still quite a few. Each one brings me back to some happy moment.

#1142 – lunch at Mickey’s

#1186 – a “yes”

#1193 – wool socks

#1228 – dry grass to sit on

#1248 – Michael Jackson records

#1272 – mud and boots for it

#1299 – dear sweet Gambi’s life

#1305 – an empty chapel

I was reading lots of progress reports yesterday from a variety of individuals, about the countries they’ve visited and books they’ve published and sweaters they’ve knitted this year, and the comparison bug bit me.

(Thinking about this a little… I did visit one new country in 2015 – ooh, progress!)

This has been quoted excessively, but it’s still true:

(From The Weight of Glory), 

…Our Lord finds our desire not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.

I’ve been praying through the Psalms, trusting God for yeses, and –

Surely goodness and mercy will follow me all the days of my life,

And I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever. (Psalm 23)

a penny for your thoughts?

