Second Try

(I tried to write a post last night.

It took me about four hours, and when I finally hit “Publish,” I realized that what I’d been writing was hugely depressing.

& so I asked myself, “Since when has writing been a kind of therapy, in which I sort through all my thoughts and spiritualize them?”

Anyways. Not doing that anymore.)

Here are some glories:

We went outside last week at nightfall, and the sky was brilliantly blue – ranging from deep indigo in the west to a soft golden in the east, bluish but not quite blue. Overhead, the expanse was bright cerulean. In a properly earthly sense, the whole thing was unearthly. Is it odd that I wanted to fly up into it? I did want to. It’s what C. S. Lewis wrote about in The Weight of Glory, 

For a few minutes we have had the illusion of belonging to that world. Now we wake to find that it is no such thing. We have been mere spectators… The sense that in this universe we are treated as strangers, the longing to be acknowledged, to meet with some response, to bridge some chasm that yawns between us and reality, is part of our inconsolable secret. And surely, from this point of view, the promise of glory, in the sense described, become highly relevant to our deep desire… The door on which we have been knocking all our lives will open at last.

I’ve been longing for real things, to be caught up into real things.

But God, and He alone, is the Realest-of-all-real things. He isn’t finite. He can’t be put into words, the way I try to describe what I’m searching for.

All my searching brings me back to God, always.

Tozer offers an answer to the human search for re-acquaintance with divine glory:

“What can we plain Christians do to bring back the departed glory?… I appeal to no hidden law of the unconscious, no occult knowledge meant only for the few. The secret is an open one which the wayfaring man may read. It is simply the old and ever-new counsel: Acquaint thyself with God.

a penny for your thoughts?

