Spring-time

I walked out into the woods the other day, when the weather was having a hard time deciding if it wanted to remain winter or rush right into spring. It was dusk, the horizon rosy pink and fading to grey.

A possum came trotting ’round the pond, bold as can be.

IMG_5546

I won’t try to write up nature like Sigurd F. Olson or a John Foster novel – but there are some days when everything is especially alive.

A friend spoke a few nights ago about the dilemma of how to reconcile disappointment with the knowledge that God is good. These last few months of my life have been full of disappointment, and I haven’t seen His goodness. I’m looking back, trying to find it – I know it was there – but I don’t see it anywhere.

I’m a thinker, not a feeler – but this last part of my life feels like a never-ending winter.

I love winter – I love to bundle up and stay warm, and go skiing, and dig tunnels, and tramp through waist-high snowdrifts.

But I haven’t seen His goodness anywhere in this. I’ve embraced this season and the transformation that comes with it, but there hasn’t been any joy whatsoever.

I’m pushing on through the snow, hoping that it will melt sometime soon and I’ll have a spring-time.

Psalm 27:13 – I remain confident of this: I will see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.

“The Lord reigns; he is robed in majesty;
    the Lord is robed; he has put on strength as his belt.
Yes, the world is established; it shall never be moved.
Your throne is established from of old;
    you are from everlasting.

The floods have lifted up, O Lord,
    the floods have lifted up their voice;
    the floods lift up their roaring.
Mightier than the thunders of many waters,
    mightier than the waves of the sea,
    the Lord on high is mighty!

Your decrees are very trustworthy;
    holiness befits your house,
    Lord, forevermore.”

Pslam 93

a penny for your thoughts?

